Licensing >  Health-Related Boards  > State Board of Nursing > Licensure Information
State Board of Nursing
Licensure Information

Board Forms/Applications
Forms For Nursing Education Programs

 Nurse Aides (PA Department of Health)

Seeking Licensure in Another State/Country
To report a name or address change download the form Request to Change Name and/or Address.   It must include the old address, new address, license number and Social Security Number.  The Board must be notified within 10 days of any change in address.
Name Change - Will be made only when a copy of an official document (marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order) is submitted with the request.
The fee for a duplicate license is $5.00 (check or money order) payable to the Commonwealth of PA.
Back to Top


Form to Request Change Name and/or Address or Request a Duplicate License

EXAM and Graduate Temporary Practice Permit Applications:  





          - FAQs for Licensure by Endorsement with TPPs

Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner:

          - Items the Online CRNP Applicant will need           

Clinical Nurse Specialist 




Guidelines for Developing a New Nursing Education Program

Program Application
Agency Data Form
Faculty Qualification Form
Faculty Completion of Regulatory Requirements
Order Form for Laws and Rules & Regulations

Verification of Nursing Education Program Compliance (every 3 years) 

Nursing Education Verification Form

Back to Top



To apply for nurse licensure by examination in Pennsylvania, submit the Pennsylvania Exam/TPP Application to the Board and register to take the licensure exam with PearsonVue.  You may register with PearsonVue online at or call (866) 496-2539.   

When registering with PearsonVue for the licensure exam, it is recommended you also download the NCLEX® Candidate Bulletin that will provide you with valuable information about test content and testing procedures.    
To practice in Pennsylvania, you must have a current, valid license or permit issued by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing.
Back to Top


Nurses licensed outside this state seeking Pennsylvania licensure as an RN or LPN who are requesting licensure by endorsement can download the application for licensure by endorsement.  If you hold or ever held a Pennsylvania nurse license do not complete the endorsement application.  Contact the Board office at (717) 783-7142.

Back to Top

To reactivate an expired or inactive license call (717) 783-7142.  

A notice for renewal will be mailed biennially to the address of record prior to the expiration date of the current license or certification.    Failure to receive the notice for renewal will not relieve you of the responsibility of renewing your license by the expiration date.  It is required that you update your address with the Board within ten days of any change. 

The license will be mailed to the address on record.  It will not be forwarded by the post office.

RN (Registered Nurse)

Renewal fee for RN license is $65.  Please check the Special Notice for requirements regarding continuing education for registered nurses.

CRNP (Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner

A CRNP must be currently licensed as an RN in Pennsylvania in order to renew a CRNP certification.  CRNP certificate renewal is $75.

Beginning with the April 2007 renewal, CRNPs will verify they have completed at least 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education to be eligible to renew the certificate.  The continuing education must be completed within the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal.  See the Special Notice section of this website for additional information.

Prescriptive Authority Approval

The CRNP Prescriptive Authority approval expires when the RN license and CRNP certificate expires.  The renewal fee is $25 for each prescriptive authority approval. 

The CRNP with prescriptive authority is required to have a minimum of 16 of the 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education in pharmacology.  See the Special Notice section of this website for additional information.

LPN (Practical Nurse)

Licenses for practical nurses expire on June 30 of the even-numbered years.  The renewal fee is $60.

At this time, there is no requirement to verify a number of practice hours or continuing education hours to renew the license.

LDN ( Licensed Dietitian-Nutritionist)

The renewal fee is $65. 

Beginning with the 2008 renewal, all dietitian-nutritionist licensees must have completed at least 30 Board-approved continuing professional education credits to be eligible to renew the license.  The continuing education must be completed within the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal.  See the Special Notice section of this website for additional information.  

Back to Top

Seeking licensure in another state (Verification of your PA license):
Contact the State Board in the state in which you intend to apply for licensure and request the application packet. A directory of State Boards of Nursing can be found at the following websiteNCSBN
Complete the personal information on the certification/verification of licensure form including your Pennsylvania license number. If you were licensed under a different name, please be sure to indicate your previous name.
The Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing charges the following fees for official verification/certification to another state or certifying body:
 Licensed Practical Nurse  $40.00
 Registered Nurse  $40.00
 Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner  $40.00
 Licensed Dietitian-Nutritionist  $25.00            
Make the check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Send the form and fee to:  State Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649. 
  • Requests for certification/verification of licensure received without the appropriate fee will be returned unprocessed to the sender.
  • The completed form will be mailed directly to the State Board in which licensure is being sought.
State Board of Nursing
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone - (717) 783-7142
Fax - (717) 783-0822

Modified Date: 07/28/2014 02:16 PM